Turning 34!

A couple of weekends ago I turned 34. The numbers definitely make me feel older, yet am I living the grown up life?

I think we put so much pressure on ourselves to plan ahead or to keep up with what is expected of us that we forget to make our own rules. Admittedly, life isn’t exactly what I pictured for 34, there was no big cosy family home I own, no children smothering me in birthday kisses or even a loving husband bringing me a cup of tea in bed, but putting that all aside, I’m pretty content with turning 34.

I do remember feeling really freaked out turning 30, worrying that I hadn’t fulfilled my own expectations. I am currently the furthest away from those former hopes and dreams but I’m now living a totally different life and aiming for completely different goals! I’ve been on a massive “self-discovery” journey over the last 4 years, naturally looking back and occasionally dwelling on the “what if’s” but managing to shake them off each time and focus on the road ahead.

IMG-20180708-WA0022

IMG-20180708-WA0019

So this birthday was spent sailing down Christchurch Quay with 5 of my best girlfriends, who bravely put their lives in my hands by hiring out a boat, with me as captain! No, I haven’t sailed a boat before, and yes, life jackets were suggested. However, with abit of shaky start and only one near miss with a paddle board it was an awesome afternoon and everyone stepped back on dry land unharmed and safe (yes – feeling pretty smug!!).

20180708_160350

20180708_163232

The afternoon was then followed by an amazing surprise from my 2 littlest siblings with a drive in viewing of my all time favourite childhood film “The Goonies”. This was a very nostalgic moment for me and a special memory made that I can now tick off my bucket list! “hey you guys” if you’re reading this, thank you so much.

20180708_174226

I feel very grateful to have such lovely people around me to make awesome memories with, ones I’ll always cherish. Life really is about living in the moment, enjoy the little things, for one day you will look back and realise they were the bigger things. If there is only one thing I can advise from my thirty four years, it’s to just be gentle with yourself. We’re all trying our best.

So what’s your best birthday memory…………?

Jenn x

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑